Summer approacheth…

At long last, a new post! Or so one would read if anyone read it. In any case, I honestly thought I’d enjoy writing a blog more. I mean, it’d not like I don’t enjoy it, but it can be taxing and in all honestly it’s not exactly at the front of the long list of things I have to do on a regular basis.

In any case though, summer is almost here, and with that the hikes will begin. With said hikes, also the photography. I must admit, I’ve gotten pretty used to the gear I’ve accrued over the last year, and the D780 has certainly proved a fantastic companion. The 28-300? Reasonable, but that 28 is an awkward focal length to end the range at and on FX that 300 isn’t as impressive as on DX. In any case, it’s sharp and gets the job done. I did buy a 150-600, though. The jokers at E-Infin are still repairing it, 5 months on after it broke, but whatever. They’re repairing it, the warranty is being used, I’m not paying for it, who cares.

A throwaway cloud picture. 28mm f/8 ISO 400 1/1600. The vignette is real with this lens, but what are you gonna do… I miss that Tamron, but whatever. 16-300 doesn’t exist on FX.

This appears to be the last summer where I’ll have the freedom to do as I wish. My MPhys is fast approaching, and with that the hunt for a PhD and future employment. The four months of summer this year, likely 2-3 due to work commitments, will be my last of freedom.

With that, what a grand itinerary I’ve amassed. Mull, the Cairngorms, the Hebrides, Orkney, Ullapool and the Highlands, Fort William (and valleys therein) and The Trossachs, to name a few. I’ll aim to visit all these places and more this summer. I’ll make sure to leave some photographs and my own guides to visiting them on here when I do; I don’t readily follow guides when I visit places, so they’ll certainly provide a unique perspective.

With all that passed, and with studies to continue, I’ll simply leave an assortment of some of my favourite recent pictures! Enjoy.

Wounded Small Toirtoiseshell.
Great Tit.
Roe Deer, which apparently roam the Levenhall Links here in Musselburgh. A Stag (it seems, don’t quote me.)
Recent sunset. I love the faded colour on this one.
(Greater?) Spotted Woodpecker mid-takeoff. Look at the spin! It wasn’t vertical at launch, obviously.
Some kind of blossom. Simple but I just love the composition on this one.
Some very small mushrooms. This one is on the 50/2.8 inverted EL-Nikkor with some extension tubes.
Edinburgh during the snowfall we had relatively recently.
Blue Tit, fairly ubiquitous but they’re quite dazzling. Possibly one of my favourite birds.
The local Kestrel, startled and taking off.
Perseus + California Nebula + Pleiades, 50/1.4 at /4 on the D5300 with a LP clip filter. 3 minute subs (total of ~40 mins) without darks/bias/flats/etc… rain was coming.)

I’ve obviously many more photographs. To be honest I’ve gotten a bit prolific recently… the new camera definitely lit a spark and put more value to my photography: the optical quality of the 28-300 is great, the 50/1.4 actually meters now, the 150-600 (while around) was fantastic and I’ll get a 17-35 Tammy soon for hiking. I’ll find a way to put up the entire album here, but in any case, thanks for reading/etc. 🙂

I always write this, but, feel free to use any photographs you see here for commercial/non-commercial purposes. Just make sure to attribute me if you’re going to publish them. “Callicious” is fine. Don’t need a website or anything.

Leave a comment