Eyemouth to Dunbar and returning to University…

It looks like the window to an exciting summer has finally closed, literally and figuratively, with the colder winter months now edging ever closer. I say literally because my flat is heated by a lone gas stove from the early 1900’s, which I can guarantee does a questionable job at providing warmth.

In any case, I can also guarantee that the vividness of the posts on this blog will fade quite a bit as these months pass. It pains me to say it, but once the studying starts, the couch potato scale hits the jets right through whatever limits a normal person has.

Enough of that depressing speak, though. The day trip recommendation of this thread is that of a coastal path! Lowland hikes are actually quite nice, at least in Scotland. You’d be a fool not to try a few, and this is a great one: Eyemouth to Dunbar. If starting from Edinburgh, you’ll want to take a train to Berwick upon Tweed, bus to Eyemouth, and then start your trek.

On to the statistics, so to speak. The walk amounts to just over 40 km, with around 1 km of ascent, according to the OS map. You’ll want to throw in an extra 0.2 km if you’re going to follow the coast at low tide (as I did) in which case you’ll have a lot of 100% worthwhile rocks to toddle over. It pains me to say that it took me around 15 hours to do the walk, but if you were to omit the ~1,500 photographs I ended up snagging it can definitely be done within twelve hours, not too dissimilar to the Yorkshire Three Peaks in my opinion.

Anyhow, here are the photos! As usual, my favourites first, then the full album šŸ™‚

Sagittarius with the foghorn in view at St Abbs Head šŸ™‚
Water splashing its way through some crusty rocks at Hairy Ness
Cute bird I have yet to identify.
Trio of Beadlet Anemone having a fair day in the sun.
Fence and old broken wall by a cliff ‘-‘
Adorable lil’ fly
Small Copper
Tide pools near Coldingham Bay
Fantastic rocks along the coast. I mean the coast, the whole way. Honestly worth every step.
These pools are across the entire Berwickshire coastal path, and they are all packed full of Beadlet Anemones.
Peacock, again. They’re everywhere!
Red Admiral.
Pigeons circling a rocky outcrop south of St Abbs Harbour: the ones on the left are the ones on the right, thank Panoramagic.
There’s a pigeon keeper in St Abbs who has a huge coop. That might explain their local abundance!
You can ride one of these inflatables around the coast, too.
An example of the magic of Photoshop. I gave it some (handheld) images to focus stack, but because they’re handheld and the focus shift between them was quite high, it had a tough time. I’ll take the result though, trippy!
This is a better example of the focus stacking actually working out. Kind of. I spent around half an hour healing/stamping/fixing the image. But whatever.
Who says spraying and praying is bad. This guys smiling at me šŸ™‚
Once you pass St Abbs, a magnificent hike awaits.
Of course the view looking back doesn’t disappoint, either.
Nearing the lighthouse, you’ll be able to see tremendous cliffs such as these. The ubiquitous yellow lichen of Scotland in clear view šŸ™‚
Until you’ll finally get to the lighthouse, with the foghorn in clear view. The lighthouse is at least a few persons tall, just for scale reference.
Once you pass the lighthouse, a string of great cliffs awaits your feet.
What a beach. I’d hate to go down to it though… those switchbacks don’t have a path, it’s all scree.
The view looking back toward St Abbs Head is also equally majestic.
Those are some horny šŸ˜‰ sheep. Seriously though, those are daredevils, living on the edge of a 100 m cliff…
Hawthorn (?) with an abandoned farming utensil: the final leg of the path is more inland without many direct views of the coast.
Absolute favourite image. Why? Because I stowed my camera away after it. Why, again? Because there’s going to be a rant about the “Peak Capture Clip” next. That thing hurts, man! You can see Torness Nuclear and the Dunbar Cement Works downfield, with Berwick Law in the far background šŸ™‚
Full album for the trip c:
I skipped a lot of panoramas/photographs. Definitely recommend at least skimming through, especially for the photos of the cliffs! They were majestic.

I hope you’ve enjoyed the images up until now. I promised I’d get some more photos of my trash spider, too, and I do not disappoint! Here you are šŸ™‚

You better be grateful! Getting on my knees and crawling under that web to get to the other side… between a pair of trash cans no less… unforgivable. Anyhow, that’s all for today.

SEE YOU AGAIN, if you get the reference then ā¤

Leave a comment