Overnight trip to Scot’ Borders

Friday through Saturday I had the pleasure of taking an overnight hiking trip to the Scottish Borders. It truly was a pleasure, one dampened only by the fact that my right leg gave out before I had even begun and just got worse as I soldiered on. I don’t know who designs the seats on public transport, but they’re too damn close together.

What, do tall people not get to spread their legs out? Am I doomed to fold them over eachother, having to choose one leg to sacrifice? Anyway my right leg was fucked before I even began, but I carried on and suffered all the way through. I even powerlimped the last 25 km, because that’s how great I am. *hmph*

Anyway, here are the pictures. They’re in a big ol’ Imgur album. Oh, I’ll even give you a gif! It’s me taking down the tent while some clouds roll over Broad Law (I think)… I planned to hike it, but with the fucked leg I avoided it.

Short timelapse of a tent being packed up ^.^

Now, let me add in a bit of a bonus story. Anyone who goes camping inevitably has to have a $!@% while camping. I am no different. Cue the unexpected rain and wind.

3 AM in the morning, two hours before sunrise, and the devil himself is knocking at my anal sphincter. I’ve never had such an amazing toilet trip in my entire life. It might sound romantic to say, but pooping under the stars while 80 kph wind and crazed orographic rain pummels you, it’s really something special. I’ve never seen stars that bright, nor had a shit that brisk.

On the note of panoramas and photographs, I’ve realised that my camera rather likes overexposing images. I don’t mind it, exposing to the right can be good for bringing out shadows and blacks, however it’s terrible, terrible, when doing panoramas. You get bright ass skies that are impossible to correctly edit with the rest of the image.

I’m not very experienced with manually doing things: I only shoot manual for astrophotography. That’s why I use Aperture, Shutter, or full Auto (no flash) mode. It seems like going auto decided to bend me over and shaft me with overexposure, because every *every* single shot I took over that trip was overexposed. You might be able to tell from the editing.

In any case, looks like I’m going to have to rethink how I go about taking photos, and maybe trying out different metering modes and dialing down the exposures to the negative. I’m also going to have to think about an alternative to the “Peak Design Clip,” because that bastard, as great as it is, thoroughly destroyed my left shoulder. More on that later.

Thanks for reading if you did, in any case I just hope anyone here enjoyed the images ❤

Leave a comment